June 29, 2021 Manassas —> Fredericksburg – 43.7 miles

The word for the day is “HOT”! As it was yesterday and the day before, and the day before…and the forecast is for even hotter tomorrow.

I had such a wonderful rest and visit with Ross and Toni. But I felt ready to move on this morning and was on the road before 8 a.m. Ross drove me out a few miles so I could start away from heavy traffic. I was reminded of the 2012 Transamerica ride when my friend Maxine drove me west of Eugene to avoid heavy traffic. She kept driving and driving and driving… I kept saying “you can let me out here.” But what I really knew was that she just cared and didn’t want me to go. Wanted me to be safe. I felt that same care from Ross this morning.

The route this morning was almost entirely small rural roads with little shoulders. Parts ran alongside Quantico Marine Base lands. I was surprised that the traffic was as heavy as it was. Somehow, I missed one of the turns, but realized my mistake within a couple miles and turned around to get back on track. Bonus miles. Today involved quite a few twists and turns in and through neighborhoods and on rural roads. Around 11 a.m. I stopped in some shade for my peanut butter sandwich, apple, and mixed nuts. It was getting quite hot by then and I was drinking tons of water.

As I passed around Fredericksburg, I came upon a sign indicating the bridge I was supposed to use to cross over the river was closed and I was supposed to take a detour. Trouble is, they did not indicate where the detour was to be found. As I was pondering my next move in the sweltering heat, a young man with a loaded mountain bike came from the direction I had been headed and told me the bridge was closed. I asked if he knew the alternate route and he said we would have to go back a bit and find another bridge. More “bonus miles”. I told him I would follow, and we chatted a little as we backtracked and then crossed the alternate bridge. His name was Casper (or something like that) and he left D.C. two days ago with Denver as his destination. He was actually moving to Denver to live and making the move by bicycle. He had no touring experience and was mostly camping along the way. Today he was headed 33 miles toward Charlottesville via a northern route after which he would follow the Adventure Cycling Transamerica route. For one brief insane moment I considered riding with him to Charlottesville and doing the “rogue” camping thing tonight in the heat. That is when you essentially stop and pitch a tent somewhere – not a regular camping site. Often in the middle of nowhere. One of the reasons I had started questioning my original route to Charlottesville and beyond was the lack of services or accommodations, plus no other riders. I quickly disavowed myself of the notion of heading toward Charlottesville with Casper and we soon parted ways – with me continuing south towards Fredericksburg tonight and on to Ashland tomorrow. Still it was nice to finally connect with another rider if even for a few minutes.

Casper

I had yet another directional challenge the final few miles which added a couple more “bonus miles” to the daily total. Finally found my motel and checked in around 2 p.m. I kept thinking – “tomorrow is going to be as long or longer a ride and the forecast is for an even hotter day”.

I have been thinking and praying for discernment for a week or so now as to what I would do when I reached Ashland. Today, during those final 10 miles or so to Fredericksburg in the sweltering heat, I finally accepted the realization that I just wasn’t really motivated to go in any direction. That I have had a good ride these last 3 1/2 weeks, covered 933.30 miles to date, met some neat people along the way, and enjoyed a wonderful visit with my cousin and Toni the past few days. But I am ready to go home. It takes a lot of energy to plan routes, find places to stay, and make the daily ride – so you better be motivated toward that end. And to continue on at this point just to say I did it and/or to get it over with isn’t a good enough reason to keep on. I have enjoyed the ride, am happy and at peace – but am ready to go home.

So…after dinner I started planning for the end game when I reach Richmond in 2 days. I found a cycle shop where I can have my bike packed and shipped back to Atlanta, and made a reservation for a flight home this weekend. As luck would have it there just happened to be a Goodwill Outlet across the street from my motel and I found just the right duffel bag for my gear to fly home in for around $3.00. Tomorrow I will ride approximately 50 miles to Ashland, and then ride the final 24 miles or so to Richmond on Thursday. That gives me a couple days for final preparations. I should be home before July 4 celebrations. My sister Donna assures me that Emma will be happy to see me.

Please keep up the prayers for safety and a smooth transition these next few days.

14 thoughts on “June 29, 2021 Manassas —> Fredericksburg – 43.7 miles

  1. I’ve so enjoyed reading your daily posts. You are amazing! Prayers for your final leg of the journey.

  2. I have loved being on the road with you and appreciate your dilemma. There is nothing to prove. Come home. You can ride those trails some other time. I support you.

    Emma and Donna and I will be happy to have you home! As well as others!

    Liz

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. A lot of discernment on that bike but I applaud your decision and I celebrate the ride that has happened. I know I have been blessed to have a nice story to read every day and pictures of beautiful spaces and kind faces. Thanks for letting me ride along. Safe travels tomorrow and beyond.

  4. This sounds like a beautiful discernment moment. So happy that you have had a beautiful trip. We can’t wait to see you back in Atlanta!! You can come ride in Western NC when you return!!

  5. As you well know … the destination is not the point. Hope your journey has enriched you.

  6. Kim, I love hearing your process of discernment and ultimate decision. And such a good decision! a vote for your own health and well-being. Blessings on your next two days as you bike carefully through upper 90’s temps. Thinking about you & keeping you in my prayers.

    >

  7. Prayers for sure! Wow! What a day!!! So glad you have been safe in the heat! Waze and Google had me list on rural roads with sn added detour in the mix…I feel your pain! A toll road was built through a property and the house was just to the right while I was on the overpass. No way to get to the house from there and I had to call a real person to guide me in!

  8. I have enjoyed reading your daily posts. Will be thinking of you and praying for a safe ride as you close out this adventure.

  9. Congratulations on another terrific ride, Kim! I’ve enjoyed reading the blog every day, experiencing some of the ride without the sore muscles.

  10. OBOY, before you even discussed your “discernment” process re continuing on the rest of your planned trip, I was hoping you would reconsider and call it quits. Not only the heat, which would have made a bike trip insufferable for me, but also the fact that the routes your report on now are just not copacetic for a biker,. So I’m real glad you decided to come home and will enjoy holiday festivities. 90% of this experience seems to have been outstanding. So many wonderful memories and images. Praying for continued safety. Panke

Leave a comment