June 28, 2021 Rest day in Manassas, VA

Started the day by putting a load of clothes in the wash, then joined Toni for another enjoyable morning of coffee and conversation on the deck. Toni left for an appointment and I started planning the route for tomorrow. Ross came over after his early morning chores (trying to avoid the heat) and we decided to go canoeing before it got even hotter. He loaned me a pair of his water shoes and a big hat to shield me from the sun. The water was very still and reflected the shore. We casually paddled along and continued reminiscing about our family growing up and specific memories. It was nice to have a period of unhurried time to spend alone with my cousin and do some “cousin-bonding”.

After lunch, I took some time to rest a bit, then completed plans for the ride tomorrow to Fredericksburg. Also started looking at some alternative routes if I decide to go forward to Richmond instead of Charlottesville. I could cut across to Roanoke and possibly pick up the original planned route from there. Or take a more direct route to NC. Still have time to look at this a little more closely in the next couple of days.

We drove to the quaint town of Occoquan for dinner at The Secret Garden, a small secluded cafe with a soothing waterfall in the courtyard outside where we sat. I had a fabulous hanger steak with this green spicy sauce, and with mashed Yukon potatoes, green beans and carrots. Beyond delicious! Unbelievably, Ross and I still had even more stories to reminisce about after two days of talking, mostly concerning our Bermuda family history involving Grandmother Ann and our mothers. After dinner we walked around the town a bit and finished off the evening with frozen custard. The entire evening was a wonderful end to two extraordinary rest days.

Since beginning this ride I’ve thought a lot about why I felt so compelled to do it in the absence of a clear reason or purpose. I now know that If the purpose of this ride was nothing more than to re-connect with Ross and meet Toni, that would be more than enough.

4 thoughts on “June 28, 2021 Rest day in Manassas, VA

  1. What a wonderful respite with your cousin and in such a beautiful place.
    Dinner looked delicious! The green sauce is most likely a chimichurri.

  2. Kim, now you have an idea about all your mom and I had to talk about when y’all joined us on THE cruise to Bermuda. I remember when you saw us still in the breakfast dining area around lunch time and told us with rather surprise, that you couldn’t believe we were still finding things to talk about. You don’t just find things or topics to talk about. History has a way of creating wonderful, loving memories and conversation!! LOVE

  3. Kim,
    Wow, are you making progress. By the time I head up to Virginia you will be in North Carolina. I was hoping to join you in Blairsville and ride back to Atlanta with you, but at your current speed I will be still in Virginia visiting family. I’m hoping for a head wind to slow you down. Thanks for your wonderful journaling and observations.

Leave a comment