June 30, 2021 Fredericksburg, VA —> Ashland, VA – 50 miles

Google lady was in fine form this morning. Following her detailed instructions, I spent the first hour going in circles trying to find my way off Wensel Rd and over to VA-2. She kept leading me to a dead end path at the end of Wensel Rd that was just worn enough to suggest it might be a trail. After all, Google lady has been known to send me down dirt or gravel roads. Yet, clearly this was not a real road or the way I was supposed to go. I finally gave up, backtracked, and returned to my motel to find some kind soul to assist me. More bonus miles.

Path to “nowhere”

I found a young man in what looked like a service van of some type apparently planning his day. I approached the passenger side window and asked if he were familiar with the area, and explained my dilemma. Brandon pulled out his phone and carefully drew a map that avoided Wensel Rd and, while necessitating some backtracking from the day before and winding around, got me back on track to locate VA-2. I asked if I could take his picture to show my blog followers the kind man who helped me out.

Armed with a map that made sense, I gleefully rode along singing chants and hymns out loud that I have been learning this summer. It was a beautiful day after all, and I had escaped the weeds at the end of Wensel Rd. (There have been a few occasions when Randy and I actually traipsed through similar or worse paths in order to find our route.) Suddenly I spotted one of those green State Bicycle Route 1 signs and I was so happy I was laughing out loud at the morning’s escapades. Brandon’s route had me winding through shady rural roads and eventually I turned onto VA-2 for 30 miles before turning on Hwy 54 for the final 6 miles toward Ashland.

Once I found VA-2 I was able to make up some of the lost time since there were no twists and turns for almost 37 miles. A few long gradual inclines and rolling hills, but no major steep hills and mostly flat. The lady at the motel in Ashland felt sorry for me and waived the early checkin fee because I told her I had just ridden 50 miles and she could see I was hot. She told me not to get used to it.

I spent the rest of the afternoon finalizing plans for tomorrow’s last 22 mile ride to the bicycle shop in Richmond; booking a room near the airport for tomorrow night; and figuring out how I can get from the bicycle store to the airport hotel some 15 miles away after giving up my transportation. My new friend Max at the bicycle store said he would help me line up a ride to the hotel with Lyft using his promotional code.

Before I close for the evening, I want to let everyone know how much your comments and support of the decision to end the ride early mean to me. I am returning home happy and healthy. And I have loved sharing these adventures with you.

8 thoughts on “June 30, 2021 Fredericksburg, VA —> Ashland, VA – 50 miles

  1. Kim! What a gift your ride has been to me! You’ve gotten me through a potentially scary diagnosis (with a happy ending), a three-day hospital stay, recuperation/relapse/re-recuperation, and back on the road to real health. Somehow your ride infused me with health. And I truly love the clarity of your decision to come home early. Blessings on the last days of your wonderful journey, my friend.

  2. Blessings and Godspeed as you journey today! I loved the song in your heart snd lift of your spirits, yesterday! Love you!!!

  3. Hurrah!!! Loving your easy sweet and conscientious way of finding bounty wherever you are!!! Blessings as you take each step toward home. I’m sure there will be others on your trip home who will need YOUR blessing and stories! It’s all part of the Big journey. Right?
    Nathalie

Leave a comment