June 24, 2021 Shrewsbury, PA —> Woodlawn, MD (Baltimore) – 45.4 miles

Reflection while riding 25 miles on the York Heritage Rail Trail and Torrey C. Brown Rail Trail:

All Thy works with joy surround Thee
Earth and heav’n reflect Thy rays
Stars and angels sing around Thee
center of unbroken praise
Field and forest, vale and mountain
Flow’ry meadow, flashing sea
chanting[5] bird and flowing fountain
call us to rejoice in Thee

From “The Hymn of Joy” by Henry van Dyke

As I started riding the YHRT this morning, I immediately became aware of the roaring hum of the circadas similar to a few days ago. It’s weird and wonderful at the same time. I felt totally surrounded and enveloped by the sound reverberating through my body. Add to that birds loudly chirping and streams running alongside the trail. A whole body experience I’ll never forget – God’s “love gift”. It brought to mind the “vibratory resonance” and interconnectedness amongst God’s creation that interim rector Ed Bacon often speaks about. I actually stopped and made a recording which I would provide a link to here if I could figure out how to do that on the blog.

YHRT

After about 4 miles, the YHRT crossed the Mason Dixon line and continued in Maryland as the Torrey C. Brown Rail Trail for another 19 miles or so. Eventually the roaring cicadas subsided. I relished the unhurried pace and calmness of it all and the time to reflect. Said some specific prayers of blessing for folks, a practice I started in 2012 during long stretches when I was making the Transamerica ride. If you are reading this, you are/have been a likely recipient of one of those prayers at some time. Along the way I passed other riders, including a gentleman on a fully loaded touring bike going in the opposite direction. Had he been going my way, I could have easily imagined joining up to ride for a while. Again, I think the dearth of riders is likely due to COVID. Still, as I exited the trail I reflected that this was one of the best trails I’ve ever ridden and that my friend Randy G would have loved it.

After exiting the trail, I continued another 25 miles or so to my hotel just north of Baltimore on mostly good roads. The weather has continued to be perfect. Tomorrow I head toward the Washington D.C. area, then on Saturday a real treat – I am riding south of D.C. to visit my cousin Ross for a few days and take a rest.

2 thoughts on “June 24, 2021 Shrewsbury, PA —> Woodlawn, MD (Baltimore) – 45.4 miles

  1. You better watch out Kim. You show up at the farm and he’ll put you to work! LOL!! No rest for you!!

  2. So glad you are doing good snd enjoying the ride! And I’m enjoying reading about it every day. Benny and I are going to be grandparents!!!! That was his Fathers Day surprise! Love and prayers🙏🏼💗

Leave a comment